Beginagains

So here I am on yet another blogging adventure, for the third (fourth?) time, but this time, it’s required and it’s serving a purpose. Short of being a requirement to pass 17.SP.ENG.1201.201, I’m not sure what that is, but I’m making plans to possibly keep it going after the class is all said and done.

Do I currently view myself as a writer? Why or why not?

Absolutely. I love nothing more than to write, but more often than not I’m finding myself wrought with headache over writer’s block with no breakthroughs on the horizon. But when I finally do get the words out, they tend to flow like rivers that flood small villages in the valleys of mountain ranges. My writing tends to be strongly worded, full of emotion and passion, and takes no prisoners. It is who I would be on the outside if the outside world didn’t scare the shit out of me.

What are my goals for my writing this semester?

My goals for this semester would be to focus on the academic part of the activity. I’m more focused on my degree in the Paralegal program and I could really use the help in persuasive writing and possibly even extending my vocabulary a bit. I’m not sure how this will be accomplished as I, obviously, can’t see the future, but we’ll see.

How do I think keeping this blog this semester might influence and/or affect my writing?

I really think having to tap into a regular regimen of writing might just aggravate the writer’s block. I haven’t written in a very long time. I used to write all the time, but only when I was inspired. I haven’t been inspired in a very long time to write anything with the strength and courage I had when I was younger. Even some of the papers I wrote in my ENG 1101 class, while strong academically, were just pieces of shit. They were nothing I would want anyone else I knew to read, and frankly, only my professor read them because I needed the grade. I’m really hoping that the exact opposite will happen and between my tumultuous life, my insanely and annoyingly biased business law professor, my amazing family and friends, and the circus that is our current political climate, I’m sure I’ll have something that inspires me at least once.

What are my goals, expectations, and/or trepidations about keeping a blog this semester?

I’m really hoping that this blog is more open ended than anything else we write and allows me to express more of my honest self. One of the things I’ve always had trouble with in my blogs in the past is that I couldn’t get passed what I thought would be material that would be too controversial. The problem is, that’s who I am. I have a big voice and big opinions and most of the time, I’m not afraid to voice some of them. But if my friends (and family) only knew my whole and complete thoughts, I may never be permitted to be in public again.

I’ve always wanted my blog space to be my outlet. I’ve wanted it to be that one place where I could just unleash the beast and let the chips fall where the may. Of course, I’ll reserve the really scandalous stuff for after the semester is over, but at least it will give me time to work up the nerve to be that bold and really just shed this costume of reality.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑