Morning Mist

The sun is drying the morning mist
That covers your earthly blanket.
Like a towel on a freshly bathed toddler
Ready to start the day anew.
Your rock is my marker
For where I go with sorrow
And extinguish the pain of loss
For at least another year.
I no longer miss you
Like the morning grass misses the sun.
I no longer need you
Like the way I need him.
I no longer anger
For the choices we made together.
I am no longer lonely
And lost on my deserted island.
But you should be closer,
Not here in the morning mist.
You should be home,
Not under the surveillance of the trees.
You should not be on a mountain,
Where the earth is unforgiving.
You should be with me,
And living beneath the stars.
You should be breathing,
And not witnessing from the sky
You should be laughing,
Watching laughter abound in my children.
You should know them,
The way you knew the first of them.
You should not have chosen the trees
You should not have chosen the earth
You should not have chosen the sun
You should not have chosen this mountain
But I know why you did.
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

